E-Visa (short for Electronic Visa) is simply a visa that you can apply for from your home country without visiting the Indian Mission in your country. It is no different from the stamped visa in your passport.

India offers E-Visa to nationals of 163 Countries. Click here to read the list of eligible countries.

Procuring an e-visa is fast and easy, and is becoming a popular choice for those who wish to travel to/visit India.

Scroll down to continue reading details of India's E-Visa below or contact us and consult with us today.

We are always here to help! For any inquires you can mail us at indiaevisa@aioimm.com or use any means of contact on our information page.


E-visa is granted to a foreigner whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, attending a short-term yoga program, medical treatment under Indian systems of medicine and business purpose, and no other purpose or activity.

To be eligible to apply for an Indian E-visa the applicant must satisfy and consider the following conditions before applying:

  • The applicant's (international traveler) sole objective for visiting India is

    • Recreation,

    • Sight-seeing,

    • A casual visit to friends and relatives,

    • Attending a short term yoga program,

    • Attending short-term courses(courses not exceeding six (6) months duration and not issued with a qualifying certificate/diploma etc.) on local languages, music, dance, arts & crafts, cooking, medicine, etc. which should not be a formal or structured course/program,

    • Voluntary work of short duration (for a maximum period of one month, which do not involve any monetary payment or consideration of any kind in return),

    • Medical treatment including treatment under Indian systems of medicine,

    • Business purpose,

    • As an attendant to e-Medical visa holder attending a conference/ seminar/ attached organizations & PSUs, and

    • Private conferences organized by private persons/ companies/ organizations/

  • The applicant's passport should have at least 6 months validity at the time of making an application for a grant of e-visa.

  • The applicant should have a return ticket or onward journey ticket, with sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India.

  • E-Visa is not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders or Laissez-passer travel document holders.

  • E-Visa is not available to individuals endorsed on Parent's/Spouse's Passport, i.e. each individual should have a separate passport.

  • E-Visa is not available to International Travel Document Holders other than Passport.


India's E-visa has five (5) sub-categories:

  • e-Tourist Visa (for 30 days/ 01 year/ 05 years),

  • e-Business Visa,

  • e-Medical Visa,

  • e-Medical Attendant Visa, and

  • e-Conference Visa.

Instructions regarding e-Visa sub-categories

A foreigner (other than those applying for e-Conference visa) will be allowed to club activities permitted under the above-mentioned categories.

Foreigners applying for e-Conference visa will be permitted to club activities permitted under e-Tourist visa only (validity co-terminus with e-Conference Visa, i.e. 30 days only).

Only two e-Medical Attendant Visas will be granted against one e-Medical Visa.

Applicants (for e-Tourist and e-Business visas only) may apply minimum four (4) days in advance of the date of arrival.

Applicants (for e-Medical, e-Medical Attendant, and e-Conference visa) may apply a minimum of four (4) days in advance of the date of arrival with a window of 120 days.

Other Instructions

Nationals of Yellow Fever affected countries or travelers arriving from these countries must carry a YELLOW FEVER VACCINATION CARD at the time of arrival in India, otherwise, they may be quarantined for 6 days upon arrival in India.

Travelers must travel on the Passport which they have applied for e-Visa.

e-Visa is non-extendable, non-convertible, and not valid for visiting Protected/Restricted and Cantonment Areas. If you intend to visit those areas, you would require permission from the Civil Authority.

Authorized Immigration Checkposts (Entry Points & Exit Points)

Entry Points

Persons holding e-Visa will be allowed to enter into India only through the designated international airports/seaports namely:


  1. Delhi

  2. Mumbai

  3. Chennai

  4. Kolkata

  5. Thiruvananthapuram

  6. Bengaluru

  7. Hyderabad

  8. Cochin

  9. Goa

  10. Ahmedabad

  11. Amritsar

  12. Gaya

  13. Jaipur

  14. Lucknow

  15. Trichy

  16. Varanasi

  17. Calicut

  18. Mangalore

  19. Pune

  20. Nagpur

  21. Coimbatore

  22. Bagdogra

  23. Guwahati

  24. Chandigarh

  25. Visakhapatnam

  26. Madurai

  27. Bhubaneswar

  28. Port Blair


  1. Mumbai

  2. Cochin

  3. Mormugao

  4. Chennai

  5. New Mangalore

Exit Points


  1. Ahmedabad

  2. Amritsar

  3. Bagdogra

  4. Bengaluru

  5. Bhubaneshwar

  6. Calicut

  7. Chandigarh

  8. Chennai

  9. Cochin

  10. Coimbatore

  11. Delhi

  12. Gaya

  13. Goa

  14. Guwahati

  15. Hyderabad

  16. Jaipur

  17. Kannur

  18. Kolkata

  19. Lucknow

  20. Madurai

  21. Mangalore

  22. Mumbai

  23. Nagpur

  24. Patna

  25. Port Blair

  26. Pune

  27. Srinagar

  28. Surat

  29. Tiruchirapalli

  30. Tirupati

  31. Trivandrum

  32. Varanasi

  33. Vijayawada

  34. Vishakhapatnam


  1. Attari Road

  2. Akhaura

  3. Banbasa

  4. Changrabandha

  5. Dalu

  6. Dawki

  7. Dhalaighat

  8. Gauriphanta

  9. Ghojadanga

  10. Haridaspur

  11. Hili

  12. Jaigaon

  13. Jogbani

  14. Kailashahar

  15. Karimgang

  16. Khowal

  17. Lalgolaghat

  18. Mahadipur

  19. Mankachar

  20. Moreh

  21. Muhurighat

  22. Radhikapur

  23. Ragna

  24. Ranigunj

  25. Raxaul

  26. Rupaidiha

  27. Sabroom

  28. Sonouli

  29. Srimantapur

  30. Sutarkandi

  31. Phulbari

  32. Kawarpuchia

  33. Zoripuri

  34. Zokhawthar


  1. Alang

  2. Bedi Bunder

  3. Bhavnagar

  4. Calicut

  5. Chennai

  6. Cochin

  7. Cuddalore

  8. Kakinada

  9. Kandla

  10. Kolkata

  11. Mandvi

  12. Mormagoa Harbour

  13. Mumbai Seaport

  14. Nagapattinam

  15. Nhava Sheva

  16. Paradeep

  17. Porbandar

  18. Port Blair

  19. Tuticorin

  20. Vishakapatnam

  21. New Mangalore

  22. Vizinjam

  23. Agati and Minicoy Island Lakshdwip UT

  24. Vallarpadam

  25. Mundra

  26. Krishnapatnam

  27. Dhubri

  28. Pandu

  29. Nagaon

  30. Karimganj

  31. Kattupalli


  1. Munabao Rail Check Post

  2. Attari Rail Check Post

  3. Gede Rail and Road Check Post

  4. Haridaspur Rail Check Post

  5. Chitpur Rail Check Post

Disclaimer: The information on this page relating to E-Visa for India is for reference and are guidelines only, and are stated as described by the Government of India, Bureau of Immigration of India, and Ministry of Home Affairs of India.In case of inquires or comments, you can mail us at: inquiries@aioimm.com